Science and Education

The University of Split on the eastern Adriatic coast is the second largest University in Croatia. Due to historical and social reasons the faculties and institutions of the University of Split are dispersed along the Croatian coastal region from Zadar to Dubrovnik. The Rector's Office is located in Split. The University was officially established on 15 June 1974, by merging the former independent Faculties or Faculties which were part of the University of Zagreb. However, the University tradition in this area dates to 1396 when the Dominicans established the General University (Universitas Jadertina) in Zadar. The University included the College of Philosophy and Theology in Zadar. Master's and Doctoral programmes from that University were recognised as being equal to those of the major European universities of that time. In 1807, the General University was forced to close by the decision of the French revolutionary authorities. The first faculty of Medicine on the eastern Adriatic coast was established in 1806 in Trogir, a small medieval town near Split. This school taught the fundamentals of medicine, surgery, obstetrics and theoretical chemistry.

As the predominant scientific institution in the region, the University of Split has expanded during the course of the past years to include eleven faculties, two colleges, one University Department as well as several other institutes and scientific departments.

The University of Split is both student and research oriented. The primary emphasis of scientific research carried out by the University is in areas and disciplines which concentrate on the ecological, cultural-historical, medical, social, economic and other characteristics of the region as a part of the Croatian Adriatic area and the Mediterranean region as a whole. Also included are the study of Adriatic and Mediterranean archaeology and historical sciences, research and preservation of artistic and architectural legacies, philology, agriculture, oceanography and fishery, botany and zoology, island and coastal economy, tourism, maritime law, nautical science, naval architecture and certain other scientific disciplines (chemical engineering, civil engineering, electrical and mechanical engineering), all of which distinguish the University of Split not only in Croatia but also beyond its borders.

University of Split