The System of State

The Republic of Croatia is a parliamentary democracy, like most countries in Western and Central Europe. After its Constitution was amended in November 2000, the semi-presidential system was transformed into a pure parliamentary system.

The Government, headed by the Prime Minister, is politically responsible only to the Croatian Parliament (Sabor), which is comprised of the House of Representatives (Zastupnicki dom). Members of the House of Representatives serve four-year terms.

The President of the Republic is the Head of State, directly elected for a term of five years. The President is also Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces, and represents the Republic of Croatia.